2015 Results - Day 3

Trialling started at 7.45am this morning. The weather is overcast today, with a cool breeze. Showers are forecast for this afternoon. There will be two run-offs this evening. One to decide who will be the reserve team member, and the final to decide who will be this year's Welsh champion. There are lots of good handlers and good dogs in today's catalogue, so expectations among the competitors and spectators are high.

The sheep are working well again but are still very tough at the pen.

Gwynfor Owen was first to the post, running his black and white dog, Roy, who is by his Zac. 

They had a good run but had to battle with a stubborn ewe at the pen. They completed their run with a score of 198.

After his run Gwynfor said: "The sheep look ok when you are standing at the fence watching, but they are very difficult at hand."

David Howells was next on the field with Jaimie. She was sent on the left-hand outrun and they had good field work. They took the shed but had trouble at the pen and were timed up.

Llion Harries and Groesfaen Jet had a tidy run, and kept them settled at the pen.  They finished on a score of 178.

Kevin Evans and Jimmy have also completed their run.

During the lunch break, brace champion J. R. Griffith gave a doubles demonstration.

After the break the judges brought in a standard.

Trialling continues in dry weather but the wind is getting quite blustery.

The sheep aren't flowing quite so well around the course now.

The cut-off point for the top five places is 197 points.

With Aled Owen and Glyn Jones on equal points at the top of the leader board, and on equal OLF points, Aled has beaten Glyn with his drive points.

Nigel Watkins and Meirion Jones both score 191 points but it won't be enough to make the team.

Gwyn Jones, Penmachno, has gone into the top five with a score of 204.


When the run-off for the reserve team place is held, the course will be outrun, lift, fetch, shed and pen, in a time limit of nine minutes.

The run-off between the three days' winners to decide the Welsh champion will be the full course, with the 15-minute time limit.

The order of running for the reserve run-off is Jeff Evans and Spot, David Howells and May, Arwel Owen and Ben.

The order of running for the top three run-off is Aled Owen and Llangwm Cap, Kevin Evans and Kemi Ross and last to run will be Stan Harden and Bob.

The reserve run-off was won by David Howells and May.

In the final run-off between the top three handlers, Aled Owen set down the challenge when he went to the post first.

He sent Llangwm Cap on the right-hand outrun. They caught all the gates around the field and completed the at-hand work well.

Kevin Evans was next to run. Young Kemi Ross needed a couple of whisltes on his left-hand outrun. The shed took a little time and the sheep were very tricky at the pen, where they ran out of time.

Winners of day two, Stan Harden and Bob were last to run. Bob went out on the right-hand gather. They had a bit of a bend in their line before the fetch but managed to catch the gates. They went on to complete their run within the 15-minute time limit.

Those who had stayed to watch the run-offs eagerly awaited the results, when it was announced that Aled Owen and Llangwm Cap were the 2015 Welsh National champions.

Second place went to Stan Harden, and in third place was Kevin Evans.

Aled Owen last won the Welsh National 15 years ago. His four-year-old tri-colour Llangwm Cap is by Aled's Mac, out of Aled's Gael.


The top five for today was:

Aled Owen and Llangwm Cap, 207;

Glyn Jones and Cap, 207;

Gwyn Jones, Roy, 204;

Kevin Evans, Jimmy, 203;

Gwynfor Owen, Roy, 198;

Reserve Jeff Evans, Spot, 197.

2015 Welsh National champion Aled Owen and Llangwm Cap. ALL PICTURES: Lisa Soar
Welsh National runners-up, Stan Harden and Bob in the run-off final.
Kevin Evans' Kemi Ross.
Gwynfor Owen and Roy were first on the field on day three of the Welsh National. They scored 198 points and had a long wait to see if they would get into the Welsh team.
Karin Haker and Rob had a terrific run around the field but ran out of time at the pen.
Dewi Jenkins and Moss competing at their first Welsh National.
Sophie Holt and Bet in the shedding ring
Gwyn Lightfoot receives his team cap from Acting Welsh President Eirean Morgan.